Security

Your pre-release music is stored on our dedicated and secure servers. Additionally, each promo sent through the FATdrop system is protected by our anti-share technology and cannot be forwarded or shared after it has been received by the intended recipient.

Furthermore, you can also use watermarking for extra protection, meaning the person who originally downloaded the track could be identified if it appears illegally online.

Watermarking

There are two different types of watermarking available and unlimited use of them is included as part of all paid FATdrop subscriptions.

JOVA is FATdrop's original watermarking technology. If you use JOVA, a unique code is automatically injected into each of your downloaded tracks. This identifies who downloaded it. The code doesn't affect the music file in any way and the downloader/listener won't know it's there unless you tell them.

Advanced Watermarking is the most secure option and what we recommend when security is the highest priority. It embeds a signal into the audio which is very difficult to remove. It works on MP3, WAV, FLAC, and AIF files. For best audio quality we recommend uploading a lossless file and using the site to encode the files to an MP3.

Selecting which Watermark to use can be done from the Watermarking Options found within your audio settings. Selecting whether a download has a watermark applied is done from the tracklist page when building your campaign.

If you find unauthorised copies of your tracks on a file-sharing site, you can submit files to FATdrop and we can then read the file and check if there is a watermark. If there is, we can tell you who has leaked your track. Please be aware we can't be responsible for obtaining files from file sharing sites and we reserve the right not to scan for watermarks after the official release date for a campaign.

What is Anti-Share?

The Anti-Share feature prevents Recipients from sharing promo links. If someone accesses your promo from more than one location (IP address), they will be asked to confirm their email address before they can proceed.

Anti-Share is activated on all Campaigns by default. If you don't want your Recipient to have to confirm an email address, you may want to generate a Public Link.

How can I review the security of my account?

Every time your account is logged into on a new device, you will receive a security notification in the form of an email detailing the OS, browser, IP address, location, time and date of the login. The location displayed is based on the IP address of the login and is therefore only approximate (and not guaranteed to be correct 100% of the time). If your account is logged into on a known device but with a different browser for the first time, you will also receive a security notification.

If you go to Settings > You you'll find a "View recent logins" link under the "Recent logins" tab. If you click this link a popup will appear showing all logins from the last 30 days. Any entry which is displayed in white is a device which currently has access, meaning your account is either still logged in on that device or it could be logged into without triggering a security notification. Any greyed-out entry is a device which no longer has access, meaning you will receive a security notification the next time your account is logged into on it.

If there are currently multiple devices with access, then a "Logout of other sessions" button will appear. If you click this, then any other device which is still logged into your account will be force logged out, and the list of devices with access is reset to just the one you are currently using.

If there is any suspicious activity then you should force logout all other sessions and consider changing your FATdrop password. You can do this by logging out, going back to the login screen, clicking "forgot password" and following the on-screen instructions. You may also want to consider changing the password of your email account as this could too be compromised.