Account Admin & Users

Introduction

Each FATdrop account can have one Primary user and multiple other users of different types. The different types of users have access to different features within your FATdrop account.

Setting the Primary User

To change the Primary User on an account you must log in and take the following steps:

  1. Go to your User Settings
  2. If the new Primary User doesn't exist yet, create a new user
  3. Click on name of person you want to be Primary User.
  4. Change Type Of User to Primary
  5. Click Update

The existing Primary User will be downgraded to Full-Access User.

Creating additional users

Only the Primary User of your account can add new Users. To set up a new User, log in and follow these steps:

  1. Go to your User Settings
  2. Click Add User
  3. Fill in details and select type of User
  4. Click Add User button

There are five types of Users within FATdrop:

  • Primary Users receive all Billing correspondence, have access to all pages and are able to create new Users. There is only one Primary User.

  • Full-Access Users can create and send promos, view reports and have access to all pages. You can create multiple Full-Access Users.

  • Billing Users have access to the Billing page. This should be used if the Primary User is not the person who pays the bills. There is only one Billing User.

  • Design Users can edit your Promo Templates. A User of this status will not have access to other parts of your account. You can create multiple Designer Users.

  • Custom Users allow you fine-grained control over what a User has permission to see and do in your account. Please see the related FAQ for further information.

Custom users

The primary user of an account can add "custom users" to the account in the 'Users' tab of the settings page. These custom users can use their own email address and password to login, but will only have access to certain parts of the account, as defined by the primary user.

There are several different sections that custom users can have either view only or view and edit permissions to, and they are as follows:

  • Account Settings
  • Templates
  • Invoices
  • Mailing Lists
  • Folders
  • Campaigns
  • Reports

For everything except for Account Settings and Invoices, the primary user also has the option to give the custom user permission to only view/edit some of the things in that section. So for example, a custom user might only have permission to view one specific mailing list or a certain selection of campaigns.

How exactly this works differs depending on the section.

Account Settings

If a custom user is given edit permission for the account settings then they will be able to see and change settings on the Audio and Campaign tabs, as well as the billing name/address in the Account tab.

Regardless of their account setting permissions, they can always edit the settings in the You tab (as this only relates to their user account and not the account as a whole) and they can never access the Users tab or change the account plan (as this is reserved for the primary user).

Templates

When creating or editing a campaign, a custom user can choose from any templates they have view permission for. If they have no view permission for any templates then when creating a campaign the account's default template will be used.

If they have edit permission for any templates, they can also go into the template settings and change the look of those templates.

Invoices

If a custom user has view permission to invoices then they are able to view and pay any invoices on the account.

Mailing Lists

In the mailing lists page, a custom user can only see the lists they have view/edit permission for. In All addresses they will only see the recipients that are in one or more of the lists which they have view/edit permission for.

If they have view only permission then they can see the people on the list but can't add or remove people from the list, or change the recipient info of people in that list etc. If they have edit permission for the list then they can do all of those things plus rename & delete the list etc.

A custom user can only create new mailing lists if they have edit permission for ALL mailing lists.

If a custom user has edit permission for a campaign, then they will only be able to send that campaign to recipients on the mailing lists they have view permission for. If they go to the manage access of that campaign, they will only see the recipients there that are on the lists they have view permission for.

HOWEVER, if a custom user has view permission for the reports on a campaign, they will be able to see all the recipients that campaign was sent to, even if those recipients are not on any mailing lists they have view permission for.

Campaigns

A custom user will see any campaigns they have view/edit permission in their campaigns page.

If they have view permission only then they can see the campaign preview but cannot edit or send the campaign. They can however see any feedback or downloads on these campaigns in the recent activity section of their dashboard, as long as the feedback/download was by a recipient that is in a mailing list which they have at least view permission for.

If they additionally have edit permission for any campaigns then they can also edit or send these campaigns, but only to recipients which are on mailing lists that they have at least view permission for.

A custom user can only create a new campaign if they have view and edit permission for ALL campaigns.

Folders

This decides which folders the custom user can see/access in the "Files" page, and therefore which files they are able to use for a campaign they are creating. If you are happy with the custom user being able to add any files in the account into one of their campaigns then you can give them access to all folders.

Reports

A custom user can only see the reports of a campaign if they have at least view permission for it. This will allow them to see, amongst other things, everyone that campaign has been sent to and all of the feedback/downloads on that campaign.

If they additionally have edit permission for the reports of a campaign then they can also edit/delete the feedback on that campaign.

Changing your display name or email address

To change your Display Name or email address associated with your login, take the following steps:

  1. Go to your Account Preferences
  2. Update the Display Name and click the Upadate button.
  3. To change email, enter your new emaail address and account password
  4. Click Change. This will send an email to your new address
  5. Verify your new email by clicking the link in the email